Stay Connected

State Central Executive Committee

The SCEC is the governing body of the Kentucky Democratic Party. Members comprise Democratic activists and leaders from across the Commonwealth, all committed to electing Democrats.

There are presently 51 voting members of the SCEC, including members from each Congressional District, members At-Large, Democratic National Committee representatives and Democratic representatives from the General Assembly. The Presidents of the Kentucky Young Democrats and the Kentucky Democratic Woman's Club also serve as members of the SCEC.

Non-voting members of the SCEC include the Legal Counsel and Treasurer, as well as all statewide elected Democratic Constitutional Officers, U.S. Senators and U.S. Congressmembers.

How do you become a member of the State Central Executive Committee?

Members of the SCEC are elected at the Kentucky Democratic Party Congressional and State Conventions, held during every Presidential election year. They are elected by county-wide and legislative district (Fayette and Jefferson counties) delegates, and serve four-year terms.

The Chief Executive Officers of the State Central Executive Committee are the Chair and Vice-Chair.

For more information, please refer to the bylaws.

Chair & Vice-Chair

Patrick Hughes, Chairman, previously served as Chief Deputy Attorney General to Kentucky Attorney General Jack Conway. As Chief Deputy, Patrick was responsible for daily operations of the Office of the Attorney General, including criminal and civil investigations and enforcement actions. He also managed a number of important initiatives, including review of a major proposed hospital merger and legislation to improve the Kentucky All Schedule Prescription Electronic Reporting system, an important tool in the fight against prescription drug diversion and abuse.

Susie Watkins, a native of Henderson County, is retired from thirty-one years of teaching elementary school, including two as a Distinguished Educator. She has been a constant presence in Democratic politics due in part to her late husband, long time Henderson County Judge Executive Sandy Watkins. Susie credits her "Yellow Dog Democrat" leaning to Sandy's tireless efforts on behalf of the party. A grandmother of two, Watkins has two grown sons.

State Central Executive Committee Members

Denzil Allen

Alison Amon

Queenie Averette

Ann Ballard

Crystal Chappelle

Lindsay Dickinson

Milly Diehl

Andrea Ewen

Clay Ford

DeeDee Ford

Liz Fossett

Susanna French

Joey George

Steve Gold

Representative Derrick Graham

Joe Graviss

Tom Guidugli

Lou Gunnell

Diane Hancock

Kathy Hinkle

Phinis Hundley

Cody Johnson

Romamza Johnson

Charlotte Lundergan

Brenda McClanahan

Tiffany Miller

George Mills

Charlie Moore

Jim Morphew

Senator Gerald Neal

Jeff Noble

Representative Ruth Ann Palumbo

Emi Ramirez

Austin Redmon

Bill Ryan

Jordan Shewmaker

Roy Sizemore

Jim Stammerman

Bob Stewart

Kathy Jo Stubblefield

Winnie Townsend

Jeanie Trumbo

Karen Ward

Michelle Williams

Alan Winkenhofer

Marcus Woodward